kanediep


Inspired/Friendship
July 3, 2009, 2:10 PM
Filed under: Uncategorized

Culture Shock SD Dance Scholarship started this past week for June -December 09′. I’ve been going to most the classes and they have been really fun and I’m beginning to remember pieces much better than I used to. One of my favorite classes is taught by Keone Madrid on Wednesday nights. This past wednesday was especially crazy because he choreographed to a Michael Jackson song as a tribute after Michael’s recent passing. The song was “break of dawn.” The piece was amazing as usual but the part that inspired me was when he talked about how Michael danced so powerfully and with such conviction. He then did a solo for the piece and showed us the other half as well. The performance gave me so many chills, it will and probably forever put me in a different mindset about dance. 

Just yesterday, I was kinda tired at work and something just didn’t feel right. All I could think about was how blessed I was to be able to dance and go to a different place… kind of like a different world/mindset. And to be able to have that, I truly appreciate and am so thankful for. Through the past year and a half, music and dance has become such a powerful force in my life… and may be hard for some people to understand, but it’s okay because what matters is everyone’s individual connection to whatever they enjoy. Some people find therapy in painting, or driving, or even chemistry. Whatever it is, I just hope everyone has something that brighten their day and never take that for granted. 

Friendship – My mom had an interesting conversation with my brother and I this morning. My mom is all about family and that friends are not dependable. So it surprised me when she spoke about a certain friend being her “best friend.” We ask about her other friends, and she said they were “along the way” friends. We ask what made the person her “best friend.” She said, “because I only want the best for her, and she only wants the best for me.” Suddenly I understood exactly what she was saying. There is no ulterior motive, no jealousy, no hate, just friendship. Well said mom. So wise.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

awwww thats the friendship we have! thanx for pointing it out hahahaha ;) and gives u a reason to visit me more at ERC! LOL

Comment by janice

moms are wise :)

Comment by irene




Leave a Reply

