kanediep


Khmer Romance – UCSD CSA x Kane Diep
April 30, 2010, 12:36 PM
Filed under: Uncategorized

I haven’t made a music video in years. Leann Mey from CSA (who is also a good friend and a past coworker of mine from Birch Aquarium) approached me to make a music video parody to Bad Romance by Lady Gaga. Coincidentally, I had been trying to convince my friends to make one a couple months ago. So I was excited I had a dedicated group to get this music video going.

Christina Pov sang and mixed the song with Bladimir Castro. The girls from CSA made all costumes and choreography for the shoot. We shot in about 7 hours and editing in about a day. It is so nice to have a group of people that are there to have fun and that aren’t afraid to get into their roles. I remember making music videos when I was younger, making my actors express themselves was like pulling teeth. HAHA.

This was also my first time doing the lights by myself in the studio. They are extremely heavy. I was a one man crew that day because all my friends were busy. It was difficult, but I learned a lot from doing everything myself.

All the hard work was definitely worth it because after my performance with D.O.C. I rushed over to the CSA Culture Show and got to see my video premiere. Everyone was laughing the whole time and I heard someone say behind me “That video alone made the trip worth it” which made me smile.

Here is the video of Khmer Romance:

Thank you CSA for the good times and opportunity! Hope to work with you all again in the future!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

