kanediep


Last dance performance
May 20, 2011, 4:57 PM
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s almost nearing my last quarter of undergraduate education at UC San Diego. I’m excited, nervous, eager, scared, and anxious. Many seniors probably feel the exact same way. The past couple weeks have been fun and busy. I’ve been taking physics for a general education requirement and only solidifies my belief that math and science route is definitely not for me. I’m passing. That’s all I’ll say about that.

This past weekend I was able to perform a live version of “Back To December” at Sun God (UCSD’s biggest event) with my friends Julie Zhan, Drew Vo, Angela Wang, Crystal Shei, Ivy Nguyen, Jennifer Jhang, and Ivan Leung. Here is the video:

This performance was special for me because it will be my last one at UCSD and probably my last live dance performance in general. I’ve had so much fun in dancing in the community, practicing, learning, growing, and performing. Nothing is like the feeling before and during a performance, so much beautiful energy.

Dancing has been really good to me, I’ve met so many amazing friends and explored stamina, pressure, movement, and flexibility of my own body as well as with teams as a whole. I’ve learned to become a better leader, director, teammate, and friend throughout my journey. I even got to performed at The Carnival “Choreographers Ball” in LA (the most legit dance showcase… ever), which I honestly never thought in my entire life or dreams would ever happen. Dance has made me realize what true passion really means.

I want to thank my first team kunFusion for sparking my love for dance.

Thanks to Mike Lin from Threshold for taking me in and giving me the opportunity to step up my dancing. He showed me how a good director leads a team.

I want to thank all my team members of VN8. I’ve always wanted to direct a team and you made that come true. You all brought my choreography and imagination to life. I will always remember how special my college experience with VN8 was and I hope VN8 was as special for you as it was for me.

I want to thank D.O.C for training me and showing me the professional side of dancing. It was amazing to see all your seasoned talents and I hope all your dance goals in life come true.

I want to thank Julie Zhan for bringing dance back into my life this year and driving back and forth from LA to dance in our projects together. You’re a freaking rock star. If you haven’t seen our video for Back to December. Check it HERE.

Lastly, I want to thank to all my friends from the Back to December at Sun God performance. Thanks for jumping on board and helping us put this performance together in 4 practices. Way to end my time at UC San Diego.

I’ve met so many extraordinary people. If you don’t know, dancers are some of the coolest, friendliest, humble people around. I just wanted to say I love you all.

Through the past 4 years, dance and filmmaking were my two passions. This past year, I was able to bring the two together. It was really nice seeing close friends from my different groups finally meet each other from film, to dance, to my freshman friends. I have done what I wanted to do with performing dance, and now it’s time for me to focus my energy on making films. I appreciate every moment of happiness, escape, and love that dance has offered to me.

It’s been an honor.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

go kane
go kane
it’s your burfdae
yeah your burfdae

Comment by Andrew




Leave a Reply

