kanediep


Working hard on what I want.
November 2, 2011, 12:25 AM
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s been a few months since my last update. Things have been… crazy (in a good way). Below is a short update on what I’ve been working on and things coming up for me in the near future.

1. I am currently working with the editor on a music based short I’m directing. Produced by Farah Moriah. The short stars Julie Zhan and a really cool special guest that will be announced soon. The short is called I Like You about a girl that falls stupid for a guy. It’s a cute quirky video, if you know Julie, you know what I mean.

2. I recently directed a commercial video for a new shoe company called Primal Professional. It was a lot of fun and a good new experience. Please support his company.

3. I’m also currently editing a music video I directed for Lindsey Yung (my second one for Lindsey) called “You and Me” coming out at the end of Nov. I made this one simple and sweet, about a Navy girlfriend/wife missing her man while he’s gone.

Here is a teaser for the music video:

4. Moving into a pretty sweet house in LA next week with my Executive Producers Julie Zhan and Farah Moriah. Staying there a couple months to finish pre-production and production of our documentary Uploaded: The Asian American Movement.

5. Our documentary team was invited to hold two workshops next week at the Ivy League Conference held at Princeton University. Farah Moriah (one of the Executive Producers) and I will be representing our team. We will also be visiting New York City, a first for both of us.

Uploaded team at the San Diego Asian Film Festival

6. A short I directed in Hong Kong called Lonely was selected to be played in a shorts showcase on PBS. It’ll be my first televised work! Congrats to my awesome team in Hong Kong.

7. Another short I directed in Hong Kong called Her Return was screened last week at the 12th Annual San Diego Asian Film Festival. It’s a short about a mother’s attempt to reconnect with her son who she abandoned years ago. This is my 2nd year with work at the festival. SDAFF is a wonderful festival to be part of. I enjoyed the entire week watching as many films as I could and was throughly inspired.

As far as writing… I am working specifically on 2 short fictional narrative scripts and my first fictional feature script. Since it’s my first one, it’s really different and challenging from writing a short. It is challenging to try to keep audiences entertained for more than an hour! I probably won’t be done for months or maybe years but I’m excited about it.

During SDAFF weekend, Julie Zhan (who also screened her short And Then She Smiled) and I had some time and decided to choreograph a sexy dance piece for fun because neither of us has done that style in awhile. We also had the pleasure of teaching the piece to [N]Motion dance team (that Julie co-founded). Here is the piece we did:

Below is a short Julie directed called I Got Rhythm a couple months back that I had the honor and a lot of fun dancing in.

Follow me on tumblr for more daily updates http://kanediep.tumblr.com/

Until next time!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

